NEWS – A Tribe Called Quest Celebrates 25th Anniversary of Debut LP on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon

Last Friday, November 13, A Tribe Called Quest reunited on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, performing “Can I Kick It?” alongside The Roots and reissued People’s Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm to commemorate the 25th anniversary of their debut LP.

The group of alternative hip-hop pioneers—Q-Tip, Phyfe Dawg, Ali Shaheed Muhammad, and Jarobi White—formed in 1985, releasing five acclaimed albums in the 90s before their initial split in 1998. While they performed a few concerts following their brief 2006 reunion, Q-Tip called it quits for the Tribe after opening for Kanye West’s Yeezus Tour in 2013. Quest’s performance on Friday (see below) marked not only their first reunion since 2013, but also their first network television appearance in 15 years. What I really loved about their performance was their vibrant and crowd-engaging energy, something woefully lacking from many TV performances these days. It’s also evident that their chemistry as a group is still on-point, without much erosion over the years.

Despite the performance, we aren’t certain about an official or fully-fledged reunion of A Tribe Called Quest, as Phife Dawg admitted to Rolling Stone Magazine this month that there are still rough patches within the group. He maintains that the posse shouldn’t have officially disbanded following the Yeezus tour, adding, “It’s dumb [that we aren’t performing together], and I don’t agree with it, and we’re doing the fans a great injustice by not getting together and rocking, and that’s all I can really speak on as far as that goes.” That said, I think most ATCQ fans can hold out some hope, thanks to some of these recent updates and the Peoples’ Travel re-issue, which features remixes by J.Cole, CeeLo Green, and Pharrell. Peep the deluxe version tracklist:

  1. Push It Along
  2. Luck of Lucien
  3. After Hours
  4. Footprints
  5. I Left My Wallet In El Segundo
  6. Pubic Enemy
  7. Bonita Applebum
  8. Can I Kick It?
  9. Youthful Expression
  10. Rhythm (Devoted to The Art Of Moving Butts)
  11. Muhammad
  12. Ham ’N’ Eggs
  13. Go Ahead in The Rain
  14. Description of A Fool

Bonus Tracks

  1. Footprints (Remix feat. CeeLo Green) (Previously Unreleased)
  2. Bonita Applebum (Pharrell Williams Remix) (Previously Unreleased)
  3. Can I Kick It? (J. Cole Remix) (Previously Unreleased)

The 25th anniversary edition re-issue of People’s Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm is available now via iTunes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: